Angelo: Part VI

    I saw my 93-year-old neighbor from down the street, Angelo, sitting out front this morning, and so I stopped the car and we chatted for a bit.  He hopped out of his chair and walked over to the car. As ever, he was wearing his big wooden cross, and as ever he asked how I was doing–said he hadn’t seen me in a while.

    Maybe, he was worried about me. You know you’re looking old when 93-year-olds worry about you. I’d been worried about him because I hadn’t noticed him walking for about a month or more. He said that he fell in front of the house a few weeks back and his daughter-in-law didn’t want him walking up the street any more. He said a nice lady, maybe a nurse, stopped and made sure he got inside okay. He showed me a spot where the gravel cut his arm. I said, “Did you go to the ER?”  And he said, “No, I wouldn’t fool with anything like that.”  He chuckled and said, “I got hurt more falling down out front than I did in the war.”

   He said, “You know I was thinking D-Day was 69 years ago this week.” I asked him what he did that day. He said his B-24 Liberator flew two missions over Normandy and Omaha Beach that day–as usual, when talking about the war he welled-up. He said, “I lost a lot of friends.” I said, “I know it’s upsetting to think about, but it was an honor to have served, and your friends are in a better place.”  He agreed.

    It is an honor to know Angelo and call him my friend and neighbor.

About diospsytrek

I am a licensed mental health counselor in Florida. I am also the author of four books. The books have to do with coping with depression and other mood disorders, and the nexus of psychological problems and spiritual warfare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

