Cuba, Si

Or . . . “The O-man’s Excellent Adventure”

For the past couple days President Obama has been paying a historic visit to Cuba. Opening up Cuba to tourism and normalizing relations has been a long time in coming. So long that it hardly seems possible its finally happening. For 55-years our government under both  Democrat and Republican administrations has acted as though our neighbor only 90-miles from Key West didn’t exist. And like a petulant toddler we held our breath and stomped our feet–and meanwhile Castro survived eleven Presidents. Obama’s not done many things that I heartily approve of but this is one of them.

In the Summer of 2005, I visited Cuba on a church mission trip. It was a wonderful experience. For one, I felt privileged to have experienced a communist country in full bloom—in all its totalitarian glory. For me the biggest takeaways were that a full belly and good medical care doesn’t amount to much when people have no freedom. The year before the Cuba trip I went to a remote village in the Dominican Republic. I saw real poverty and hunger there and yet the people were generally very happy. The surly attitude of the average Cuban was a great contrast to the joy of the average Dominican. Also, the happiest people I saw in Cuba were those in the church in which we were ministering.

I wrote an article about it which is on my website, and it’s also a chapter in my book DiosPsyTrek: But God Had a Better Idea.

Below is a link to the article:

http://www.wellbless.internetbasedfamily.com/undertheradarbyCarlAustin.html

 

 

About diospsytrek

I am a licensed mental health counselor in Florida. I am also the author of four books. The books have to do with coping with depression and other mood disorders, and the nexus of psychological problems and spiritual warfare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cuba, Si

  1. Stan says:

    Hey Carl, finally read one. I find it hard to believe that you don’t get more work off postings. I need to learn more

Leave a Reply

