Schadenfreude

I wrote four or five political blogs over the past six months that I did not publish because I knew they would piss somebody off. Some were anti-Trump and some were anti-Hillary. They were fair and balanced. But I knew they would make one or more of my friends unhappy and I’m generally not up for creating any more anger in the world than there already is–and I’m not up for enduring a barrage of endless mean-spirited comments. I unfriended one sanctimonious uber-lib  who devolved into nasty name calling over a 1995 Bill Clinton video I posted in which Bill was saying pretty much the same things about immigration that Trump was being called a racist over in 2016.

However, I have to say my comment on the election is schadenfreude, a wonderful German word roughly translated as “joy in the misery of others.”

Two profound quotes on the election: A young female caller to a radio talk show ( I think Dennis Prager’s) on why she supported Trump: “I’m looking for a Chief Executive, not a date on Christian Mingle.com.”. . . pa da bum!

Number two: Some well known liberal pundit wrote: “I took Trump literally but not seriously; his voters took him seriously but not literally.” What I think is profound about that insight is that Trump speaks in hyperbole. He uses tremendous words, unbelievable words, really, really fantastic words–and his ardent supporters understand his communication. Those smartest-guy-in-the-room folks think he’s a fool. Big mistake. Though I didn’t particularly like him, I didn’t underestimate him either.

Those rioting in the streets and weeping on campuses perfectly validate why Trump was elected, and I suppose its not a very “Christian”attitude on my part but I can’t help my schadenfreude over the angst of the Millennials and other snowflakes running to and fro whining about the election and seeking a safe space in a world that those older and wiser understand has never been safe.

Addendum:  The above was written a day or two after the election. In the more than two months since then the whining of the left has not lessened. That, and the destructive rioting masquerading as protest, the baseless name calling–and the professional provocateurs trying to incite “incidents”—have more than convinced me that the right person was elected. The angst of folks unable to accept the outcome would be humorous if their loose grasp of reality wasn’t so unsettling. They believed their own pundits and their own polling data. Like Hillary, they lived in a bubble and were victims of their own arrogance and snarky propaganda.

About diospsytrek

I am a licensed mental health counselor in Florida. I am also the author of four books. The books have to do with coping with depression and other mood disorders, and the nexus of psychological problems and spiritual warfare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

